Beautiful Basics

Hi everyone! My kidlets have been back at school for a week now – time to take a deep breath and head back into our usual routine.

I know, I did say I was going to post my Washi Tape cards next, but I’ve decided to show you one of the cards we made at my last Technique Thursday Class instead, for two reasons. One, I think it’s beautiful (can I just say how much I love this stamp set and matching framelits) and two, I need to pop it in the post. By tomorrow, it will be winging it’s way to a very special birthday girl – my Mum.

backyard basics-001

  • Stamp Sets: Backyard Basics, Bring on the Cake
  • Inks: Summer Starfruit, Tangerine Tango, Calypso Coral, Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Early Espresso
  • Cardstock: Vellum, Very Vanilla, Soft Suede
  • DS Paper: Epic Day This and That
  • Accessories: Clear Embossing Powder, Blender Pen, Sponge, Dimensional, Heat Tool
  • Big Shot: Backyard Basics Framelits, Ovals Collection Framelits

I’ve made the butterfly on this card using a technique called Stained Glass – stamp and emboss your image on the front of your vellum, and then colour with ink on the back – markers worked best on an image this size. Then I used the matching framelits to cut the butterfly out. I’m so happy to have these framelits – cutting out on vellum can be tricky, but this time Bertha Big Shot did all the work for me, and it makes it look like I have phenomenal scissor skills!

I’ve used my blender pen to not only soften the lines between each colour on the butterfly, but also to do some very subtle colouring on the beautiful lily images on the card. They were stamped with Summer Starfruit, and then I’ve dragged some of the colour back in with my blender pen. It’s a nice technique to use with a line stamp when you don’t want to stamp in black and then colour in.

Just a reminder also, that there’s an SMS open house on this Saturday – if you’ve got some crafty project that you’ve been meaning to get finished, bring it along! You can email me at inkypinkystamps@gmail.com for my address details.

soup and stamp-001

Thanks for taking a peek today!

Cheers,

Dani

Leave a Reply

