Christmas Contraband!

Not that long ago, Stampin’ Up! sent out a survey to all its Demonstrators, asking, amongst other things, if there was anything we wished they sold, but currently didn’t. Now, mostly, I’m extremely happy with the products that SU! have on offer – I don’t visit any scrapbooking stores to buy other companies merchandise for scrapbooking and card making. But, there is one thing that I immediately thought of, and that I have a guilty passion for – Washi Tape!

If you haven’t come across it before, and have absolutely no idea what I’m talking about, here’s a simple explanation, taken from the Omiyage blog:

To put it simply, washi tape is a high quality masking tape made of rice paper.
But more than that, washi tape is a material which is beautiful yet useful at the same time. You can tear it, stick it, reposition it, write on it… The low tack adhesive makes it extremely easy to use (and reuse). I think it is so popular because it is so easy to use – and looks good while doing it!
Exactly what I think myself! All my close friends know I have a bit of a passion for a lot of Japanese things – I enjoy cooking sushi and oyakodon, love watching Anime (not just the Studio Ghibli ones, which are gorgeous, but a few more obscure ones) and my current handbag has a holographic picture of Astro Boy on it.
One of my favourite shops, which also happens to sell washi tape, is the Kinokuniya bookshop in the centre of Sydney. Another favourite place is right here in Summer Hill, at My Messy Room. They sell the cutest children’s clothing and homewares, and of course, washi tape!
Here’s a card I made today using Washi Tape. It’s a shame you can’t feel the beautiful waxy texture it has – it gives the card a very subtle sheen.
  • Stamp set: Jolly Bingo Bits, Season of Joy
  • Ink: Versamark, Riding Hood Red
  • Cardstock: Crumbcake, Whisper White, Pool Party
  • Accessories: White Gel Pen, Stampin’ Dimensionals, 1 1/4″ Circle Punch, 1″ Circle Punch
  • Non SU! Items: Washi Tape

This card literally took me only minutes to make. I tore the edge off the washi tape and adhered it to the card base, then punched a hole with my 1 1/4″ circle punch – because the washi tape is so thin, the punch has no trouble getting through all the layers.

I stamped the Santa on Whisper White, and then punched it with the 1″ circle punch.

The little sentiment flag was actually made for an earlier card, but I didn’t like it, so I stashed it away to be used later. It was simply a case of writing ‘Merry Christmas’ with my white gel pen (slow and steady to get the best results) on the Pool Party cardstock, and drawing a ‘faux stitching’ dashed line around the edge of the flag.

I have to admit, I’ve been inspired by watching Kristina Kwerner’s recent holiday card tutorials to use my own handwriting more often on cards (it’s not quite as beautiful as hers though!) The snowflake image on the background of the flag was stamped in Versamark. Easy Peasy (Japanesey)!

Thanks for taking a peek today!

Cheers,

4 thoughts on “Christmas Contraband!

  1. I am going to look for some of the tape, it looks lovely! And where is this handbag??? You already know of my love for handbags but Astro Boy was my favourite show for years! 🙂

Leave a Reply

