Slow down, you move too fast…

I can’t believe it’s been a whole month (almost) since I posted! These last few weeks have been sooo busy – Father’s Day, my new Catalogue Play Date, the Arts Festival at Claire Bear’s school, a few birthday parties, a baby shower, Stampin’ Up! Regionals – yikes! I need a holiday!

So my girls and I will be heading off on the train to Canberra tomorrow for a week with Nanny and Poppy (poor Daddy Bear will have to stay at home for work, but at least he’ll have Daisy the wondercat and Speedy Red the goldfish to keep him company).

I do need to get packing, which will include a trip to the dryer at the local laundromat (curse you spring rain!), but I thought I’d share two very different cards which I made at the Inklings weekend. (I have heaps of newer cards, but have only just got around to buying new camera batteries – apparently batteries run down if you accidentally leave your camera on when you’ve finished transferring photos to the computer – oops!)

  • Stamp Set: Faith in Nature (Hostess Set, available using Hostess Dollars only)
  • Ink: So Saffron, Cajun Craze, Pumpkin Pie, Pear Pizzazz, Wild Wasabi, Versamark, Early Espresso
  • Cardstock: Early Espresso, Naturals Ivory, Very Vanilla
  • Accessories: Linen Thread, Clear Embossing Powder, Brayer, Heat Tool

I love the sentiment in this set. To get this look, first stamp your image on your neutral cardstock using Versamark, and emboss using Clear Embossing Powder. Then gradually layer your inks using your brayer, starting with your lighter colour, and working down to the darker one. It takes a bit of practice to get the blending of colours right, but once you have it down pat, it’s lots of fun.

 

  • Stamp Sets: Word Play, For Everything, Dot Dot Dot
  • Inks: Peach Parfait, Poppy Parade, Baja Breeze, Blushing Bride, So Saffron, Wild Wasabi
  • Cardstock: Whisper White, Wild Wasabi
  • Big Shot: Originals Blossom Party Die, Originals Ovals Die, Bigz Beautiful Butterflies Die
  • Accessories: Sponge Daubers, Tombow Glue, Dazzling Diamonds, Stampin’ Dimensionals

This was a colour challenge, based on the new Just Add Cake Designer Series Paper – I think I got all of them, except for the Early Espresso! I was going for a feel of riotous spring abandon.

I was also trying to accept a challenge from my upline, Karen Oliver, to try and make a simple, one layer card. Fail! I really have trouble making simple cards – it was almost a one layer card, but then I stamped my sentiment crooked at the very last minute – d’oh! I know what you’re thinking – ‘why didn’t she use her stamp-a-majig?‘ Simple – I was being lazy! So, in time honoured Dani-whoops, I didn’t mean for that to happen, how can I cover it up so it looks like I had this plan all along-type of way, I re-stamped my sentiment on an oval, re-did my large butterfly and cut it out, and layered the card using Stampin’ Dimensionals.

How did I do the flowers and butterflies you ask? With stencils of course! Use the Big Shot and your favourite dies to cut some stencils from Window Sheets, and then even if you don’t actually own the dies, (for example because you’re away on a craft weekend) you’ll always have stencils to use when you get home.

Don’t throw away the positives either (the bits from the middle) as you can create great effects by sponging around them too, especially letter ones.

Ok, got to go, I’ve been informed by Claire Bear and Bella Boo that it’s morning tea time. Didn’t we just have breakfast? What is it about school holidays that makes children hungry all the time! Back into the kitchen I go.

Thanks for taking a peek today!

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

