Christmas in July

Hidey Ho, happy stampers!

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted – we got back from our Queensland holiday a little later than expected due to a cancelled flight, and then had a lovely visit from family, but now everything is getting back to normal.

In my last Tuesday Technique class before the school holidays, we made a card using the ‘Caught in a Crystal’ technique, and I couldn’t resist designing an early Christmas card, because images used with this look so pretty and ‘snowy’. This technique is also good for undersea images (imagine sparkly water). I was going to try and post it before we went away, but alas, I ran out of time. So here it is, just a bit later than I planned!

  • Stamp Sets: Welcome Christmas, Lovely as a Tree
  • Ink: StazOn Black, Old Olive, Bashful Blue re-inker
  • Cardstock: Whisper White, Basic Black
  • DSP: retired SU! Christmas paper
  • Big Shot: Merry Details Sizzlit Die
  • Accessories: Dazzling Diamonds, Crystal Effects, Circle Ice Rhinestone Brads
  • Non SU! Supplies: white tissue paper, acetate (plastic transparency sheet)

Just a little trick I used with the circle brad – I removed the rhinestone from the brad casing, and glued it onto the snowflake with a bit of crystal effects – that stuff will stick anything if you give it time to dry!

This technique is also called ‘Acetate and Tissue’ – it will be a while before I do this class again, so if you’re feeling inspired and just can’t wait to try it out, here’s a link to a technique video from Splitcoaststampers. You’ll be able to see that the colours Beate uses in the video inspired my Christmas card.

Also, don’t forget that there are few Stampin’ Up! offers coming to an end this month. The gorgeous Autumn-Winter Mini Catalogue finishes on 31st July – if there’s a stamp set or accessory that you love, and you don’t want to take a chance on it not being included in the new Idea Book and Catalogue (available 1st September), email me by Saturday 30th July to make sure I get your order in. The ‘gift with purchase’ promotion finishes on 31st July too – buy $100 of SU! product, excluding postage, and get the adorable Ice Cream Parlour ribbon and buttons shown below free with your order.

Ok, back to work for me – I’m busy designing cards for this weeks classes – Bargello technique on Tuesday, and Spotlighting on Thursday. If you’re interested in attending, just email and let me know!

Thanks for taking a peek today.

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

