Retiform – what on earth is that?

That’s what I said the first time I heard of this technique, but it’s one of my favourites. A little involved, but you can get such a beautiful finish on your cards. It’s a little like making a patchwork quilt with stamps and ink, and if you’re a ‘shabby chic’ kinda gal like I am, too much is never enough!

We made this card in my Retiform Technique class last night, and it’s going straight into my ‘birthday box’ of cards for family birthdays. I’m really pleased with the way it turned out. I hope you like it too.

  • Stamp Sets: Strength & Hope, Bring on the Cake (both sets available in the Autumn-Winter Mini until 31 July)
  • Inks: Crumb Cake, Early Espresso, Baja Breeze, Night of Navy
  • Cardstock: Early Espresso, Glossy White, Naturals Ivory
  • Big Shot: Circles No.2 Die
  • Accessories: Basic Pearls
  • Non-SU!: Post-it Notes

Retiform seems to work best if you have a few coordinating stamps (which SU! Stamp Sets are perfect for!), one of which you make a focal point of your card. It’s a process of masking, sponging and stamping which gradually builds up your ‘quilt’. It’s not tricky, but it is time consuming, so probably best reserved for those special cards and scrapbooking pages.

I learnt this technique by watching Beate (pronounced Bee-art-ah) from Splitcoast Stampers make this amazing Christmas Card on YouTube. This one is a very involved card, but Retiform can be as simple as sponging a square or pentagon around your focal image and then stamping coordinating stamped images in each section.

I won’t be holding another Retiform Technique Class in Summer Hill until after the July School Holidays, but if you’d love to see how it’s done close up, why not book a special class at your home? I need at least two attendees – call or email me to see when I’m available.

I could also demonstrate a simple version of this card at a Workshop. If you have been toying with the idea of scheduling a workshop soon, I’ve got some news for you. Stampin’ Up! have just announced a special deal – the Extra! Extra! Hostess Promotion!

Hold a $450 workshop (including GST and shipping) between 23 May and 30 June 2011, and earn an EXTRA $70 in hostess rewards! This is in addition to our regular hostess benefits.

Pretty good deal huh! If you’d like to find out more, click on my ‘Book a Workshop With Me‘ icon on the right hand side of this page – it’s all about getting crafty and having a fun afternoon or evening with friends.

And while you’re here, today is Wednesday, so don’t forget to click on the ‘Deals of the Week’ banner to find out this weeks new bargains.

Thanks for taking a peek today.

Cheers,

One thought on “Retiform – what on earth is that?

Leave a Reply

