Tea Rose

I love getting ready for my Technique classes. Sometimes it’s a technique that I’m really familiar with, and want to share, and other times it’s one I haven’t tried before, but have always wanted to have a go!

Last night I did a class on Bleached Out Images. I’ve always had trouble making stamping with bleach work for me (and it’s very smelly and gives me a headache), but stamping and embossing your image first, and then bleaching out the colour with a paintbrush is lots of fun, because you get to experiment and see what colour your image will turn out! And, if you put the bleach in your Aqua Painter, you don’t even have to smell it (much!).

Here’s last night’s card.

  • Stamp Sets: Fifth Avenue Floral, Strength & Hope (available until 31st July)
  • Ink: Early Espresso, So Saffron
  • CS: Very Vanilla, Early Espresso, Soft Suede
  • Big Shot: Elegant Bouquet Embossing Folder
  • Accessories: Early Espresso Striped Grosgrain Ribbon, Distressing Essentials Kit, Antique Brads, Scallop Edge Punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Clear Embossing Powder, Heat Tool

You might think by looking at that stamped rose from Fifth Avenue Floral that I’ve bleached it and then coloured it all in So Saffron, but that’s actually the colour of the base cardstock – the bleach removes any dye in the cardstock and takes it back to its original colour. I’ve just used a So Saffron marker to create a few shadows, which the bleach does anyway for you! By embossing the image with Clear Embossing Powder, the stamped outline is protected from the bleach, and remains dark.

We used the Tea Stain and Flat Stamp from the Distressing Essentials kit to highlight the detail created by the Elegant Bouquet Embossing Folder – not too much, but just enough to tie in the colours.

And I couldn’t help adding in that beautiful butterfly from the Strength & Hope set – it’s my latest purchase, and I was just itching to use it. To make life easier for myself, I stamped the image directly onto the rose first, and then stamped it again onto some Very Vanilla cardstock and popped it up on dimensionals after cutting around the main part of the butterfly – that way, I didn’t have to cut out those fiddly antennae. Sponging the edges with the same colour ink hides any inaccuracies with your scissor work 😉

If you’ve got any questions about this technique, don’t hesitate to drop me a line, or if you’re in the Inner West area of Sydney, why not come along to my next class demonstrating this technique on 29th June?

Thanks for taking a peek today.

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

