For My Mum

I’m pretty sure my Mum doesn’t read my blog – not because she wouldn’t like to, but because she’s too busy managing a motel in Canberra! So, I think I’m safe posting this card before Mothers Day.

We did a card in my Technique Class on Tuesday using the Faux Linen technique (also known as Sanded Background). While I was working out a card for the class, I decided I loved the look so much, I created a card using the technique for both my Mum, and my Mum-in-Law (you’ll see hers later). I also love layering my stamped images one on top of the other, and the Faux Linen technique is perfect for doing this, as you lighten the images by sanding your background.

  • Stamp Sets: Musical Notes Wheel, You’re a Gem (available until 31st July), Bliss (SAB Set), Because I Care (Level 1 Hostess Set), Tiny Tags
  • Inks: StazOn Black, Crumb Cake, Marina Mist, Pear Pizzazz
  • CS: Glossy White, Basic Black, Soft Suede
  • Accessories: Marina Mist Satin Ribbon, Distressing Essentials Kit, Basic Pearls

I love using the Distressing Essentials Kit – I’ve used the sandpaper to groove the Glossy White cardstock, and the flat stamp and the Tea Stain and Navy distressing inks to get this look – if you look very closely you can see the marks the sandpaper has made – using distressing ink over the top makes them more visible. I wanted just a small amount of the Musical Notes wheel to be showing, so I stamped that first using the StazOn Black – that way most of the image has been sanded off, and it’s just faintly there. I coloured the beautiful hydrangea image from Because I Care last with my blender pen, to give it a softer look than using Stampin’ Write Pens.

I think I’ll be using that ‘Queen for a Day’ stamp from the You’re a Gem set a lot – it works so well with the little crown stamp from Tiny Tags, and the smallest Basic Pearls are a perfect fit for the jewels on the crown. The Marina Mist ribbon ties in the blue distressing and the colouring on the hydrangea. I’m really pleased with this card, and I hope my Mum likes it too.

If you’d like to learn this technique, my next Faux Linen class will be on Wednesday 22nd June – email me if you’d like to attend.

Thanks for taking a peek today.

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

