I {Heart} you Mum!

I had some fun playing with Fimo for the Mothers Day Stall. Some of you might remember that I’ve stamped on salt dough previously – stamping on Fimo is just as much fun.

So, here’s some of my creations – I’ll be attaching these to ribbon bookmarks for the stall. I think the heart ones are my favourites…

  • Stamp Sets: Bliss (SAB), Life is Beautiful, Very Vintage Jumbo Wheel, Cute by the Inch (Hostess Set), Music Notes Wheel
  • Ink: StazOn Black, Soft Suede, various Stampin’ Write Markers
  • Accessories: Dazzling Diamonds, Clear Embossing Powder, Fimo, bamboo skewer, small biscuit cutters, rolling pin.

What do you think?  It’s very simple – just like making biscuits, except you decorate them with stamps and ink, not icing! StazOn Black seems to work the best, and to colour the images I’ve used my Stampin’ Write Markers very carefully, stopping every few strokes to clean them off by scribbling on some scratch paper. I sprinkled Dazzling Diamonds and Clear Embossing Powder on some of them, and then brushed the excess off gently with an old paintbrush. A bamboo skewer came in handy to pierce the holes in the top. Then I just followed the instructions on the Fimo packet – into the oven at 110 degrees celsius for 30 minutes. You need to leave them on the tray for a few minutes after removing them from the oven so they can ‘crisp up’.

I need to buy some jump rings to attach them to my ribbon before I can show you the finished product. I’ll post a picture of the finished bookmarks when I’m done.

Thanks for taking a peek today!

Cheers,

7 thoughts on “I {Heart} you Mum!

  1. Pingback: Blissful Love « Inky Fingers

  2. Did you just stamp with ink or press into clay? I love these, however, I don’t do well with inking stamps but I’d rather press into clay and then use a glaze or something. Thanks.

    • Hi Debs – the brown and black ink was stamped prior to baking. I did these ages ago, I’m just trying to remember how I did the ‘glazing’ – I think I may have coloured with markers and then embossed with clear embossing powder. Glad you like them! Cheers, Dani

Leave a Reply

