Magical Candles for Mothers Day

I’ve been a busy bee over the weekend, making items for Claire’s primary school Mothers Day Stall on Friday. I’ll share some of the items I’ve been making over the next few days, just in case any of you need some inspiration for easy to make gifts.

First of all, candles. I love candles. And the kids at the school love buying candles for their mums too. I love plain candles, but I think Mothers Day candles need something with a bit more ‘pizzazz’. So, usually I would use stamping to decorate my candles (I’ve shown this before in some of my classes, and if you haven’t seen how to do it before, here’s a great SplitCoastStampers tutorial on YouTube). If you haven’t done this before, the first time seems just like magic!

I couldn’t find my white tissue paper, and I wanted to do the candles while my daughters were off playing, as the Heat Tool gets very very hot – I didn’t want any little helpers looking over my shoulders to ask if they could have a go, or making me burn my fingers. I looked everywhere for it, and I still have no idea where it is. No doubt, it’s still in that ‘safe place’ where all things go when they’re needed in a hurry!

But, then, I had an ephiphany of sorts. I came across some beautiful paper serviettes I had left over from my Last Chance Afternoon Tea, and I decided to see if it would work the same – and it does!

  • Accessories: Paper Snips, Heat Tool

Aren’t they pretty! I’m not a huge fan of pink, but I love peonies (I think that’s what the flower is on these serviettes) and butterflies, and I think the kids at the stall will love buying them. At least, I hope so! I may add some ribbon to them before I’m through, just to make them extra special.

Thanks for taking a peek today – I’ll be back tomorrow with more Mothers Day crafty type stuff. Oh, and don’t forget to check my sidebar every Wednesday in May, for the current Stampin’ Up Deal of the Week! If you click on the ‘Deal of the Week’ logo, it will take you straight to my Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator Website, where the list is displayed. I’ll also be sending out an email to remind you each Wednesday if you’re on my mailing list.

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

