Just a little bit of pink…

I recently found out that not only will I be an Auntie again, but that there will be another little girl in the Holland clan! Because the last baby was a boy, who is now a big, gloriously rambunctious almost 3 year old, who delights into getting into scrapes and tumbles (God love him :)), I couldn’t help sending something a little bit pink in the mail for the teeny tiny princess-to-be, and a card for her Mummy and Daddy…

  • Stamp Sets: Aviary, Delight in Gladness and Butterfly Bliss Builder Wheels, Tiny Tags
  • Inks: Rose Red, Soft Suede, Blushing Bride
  • CS: Whisper White, Soft Suede, Rose Red, Crumb Cake
  • Accessories: White Gel Pen

To create the tree trunk, I drew the tree trunk freehand on the cardstock, and then cut it out with my paper snips. Then it was just a matter of ‘doodling’ the bark lines on with my White Gel Pen – I find it easier to draw the ‘knot holes’ first, and then just layer the lines around them. Sponging the edges of the cardstock in Soft Suede creates a shadowing effect to make the tree trunk look more rounded.

I then put the tree trunk on my Whisper White cardstock, and drew a very light pencil mark around the branches. Then I could use the  little blossom stamp from the Tiny Tags set to stamp around the branches to form my tree ‘leaves’. Try and keep the ‘stalk’ end of the stamp close to the branch, so it gives the tree a rounded appearance.

Finally, I stamped the tiniest bird from the Aviary set (I love that bird – it’s my favourite!) I was actually going to stamp the little bird in the tree branches, but the stamp fell off my clear block at a crucial moment – d’oh – that’ll teach me to keep my clear blocks nice and clean! Since that’s where she wanted to be, I let her stay, and coloured the not quite perfect bit in with some Rose Red ink and my Blender Pen . 🙂

I think the new Delight in Gladness Builder Wheel will be just perfect for baby scrapbooking and cards, especially teamed with Butterfly Bliss. They look so cute together, don’t you think?

September seems like such a long time away!

Thanks for taking a peek today!

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

