April showers bring…

…crafty pursuits indoors. Especially during the school holidays.

On Saturday in Sydney there weren’t just showers. It rained. A lot. All day. So, we did what lots of families do during the school holidays – we made grass heads (thanks Mr Maker for the inspiration!)

Ours are particularly splendiferous though – especially mine, even if I do say so myself (I got more than a little carried away – I was still ‘prettying’ mine up long after the girls had gone off to play in their bedroom).

Here they are – along with SU! card stock, sticky strip and ribbon and accessories, we also used white glue, rubber bands, felt scraps, disposable coffee cups, old stockings, cotton wool, pipe cleaners and googly eyes. The girls have used cress seeds in their grass heads, I decided to experiment with mine – we’ll see if it works!

Bella’s lovely ‘Scooby Doo’ inspired grass head. With orange pipe cleaner tail and pink collar. And a drawing of Scooby Doo on his tummy – instantly recognisable I thought!

Claire’s lovely Tabby Cat grasshead. We had to look for quite a while to find exactly the right kind of pipe cleaner for her lovely curly tail, and of course she wasn’t complete without pink felt ears and nose. She also has a gorgeous ‘puffy paint’ collar – quite Cleopatra-ish I thought. Maybe she’s one of those ancient Egyptian tabby cats from long ago.

And lastly, mine. As I said, I did get quite carried away. May I present, Lady Gardener-Grasshead. I’m pretty sure her ladyship is off to a Spring garden party – she looks quite fetching in her pearls, I thought.

So what do you think? I’m really hoping her ‘hair’ sprouts, because I’ve used Sweet Alyssum seeds instead of grass or cress. If it works, she’ll have beautiful, white flowery hair. Or that’s the plan anyway. That’s why her skin has a particularly ‘tanned’ appearance – I’ve used seed raising mix in my stocking instead of cotton wool.

Here’s a closeup of her ladyship’s attire.

  • Stamp Set: Sweet Summer
  • Ink: Rose Red, Stampin’ Write Journaller, Blush Blossom Marker
  • CS: Blushing Bride, Rose Red, Garden Green, Whisper White
  • Big Shot: Floral Fusion Sizzlit
  • Accessories: Brights Brads, Victoria Crochet Trim, Basic Pearls, Bird Punch, Dazzling Diamonds

Thanks for taking a peek today!

Cheers,

4 thoughts on “April showers bring…

  1. fabulous idea Dani … we watched this Mr Maker episode last night and Aidan asked about making one! LOVE your ladyship too and would love to hear how she sprouts 🙂

Leave a Reply

