By the light, of the silvery moon…

It was a wet old afternoon in Sydney today – perfect for doing some cardmaking!

I thought I’d try and make a card do triple duty by making one that used the Mother of Pearl technique that we’ll be learning in my class on Tuesday this week, along with satisfying the requirements of Shelli Gardner’s Creative Challenge to make a springtime project, and the current Inkspirations Challenge Sketch. I’m not quite sure if it worked. I love my ‘silvery moon’ but I’m just not sure if the card around it is busy competing with it rather than helping it shine. I think I may have to go back to the drawing board on my colour selections. Let me know what you think!

 

  • Stamp Set: Easter Blossoms
  • Ink: Marina Mist, StazOn Black, Crumb Cake, Early Espresso, Blushing Bride, Frost White Shimmer Paint
  • CS: Glossy White, Night of Navy, Marina Mist, Whisper White
  • Big Shot: Circles No.2 Die
  • Accessories: Basic Pearls, Night of Navy Grosgrain Ribbon, Dazzling Diamonds, Spray Adhesive (not SU!)

Does it look like a shimmery, shiny, springtime moon in a starry sky? I love doing the Mother of Pearl technique – it turns out different every time. Using Glossy White cardstock and Frost White Shimmer Paint mean you get a beautiful finish, and varying your distressing inks (I used both Crumb Cake and Early Espresso this time) help you to acheive a shadowing effect. If you’d like to learn how to do this technique, do an internet search, or ask your friendly local Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator – they’d be happy to help you learn how.

I got the layer of ‘stars’ in the background by spraying the Night of Navy cardstock with spray adhesive, and then sprinkling Dazzling Diamonds on it gently like fairy dust. Just remember to put down a scrap sheet of paper first – my dining room table is now looking very glam!

Thanks for taking a peek today – I’ll be back later in the week with some Easter projects.

Cheers,

5 thoughts on “By the light, of the silvery moon…

  1. I love that cherry blossom image! Beautifully coloured too. Thanks so much for joining us at Inkspirations this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

