My inky fingers are back online, just in time for tea!

Whew! It feels so good to be typing on a full sized keyboard again. I did try posting once with my Ipod, but I’m afraid it was just all too frustrating. I’ve missed my little blog!

Anyhow, I thought I’d share some photos of the Farewell Tea Party I held for the end of the Summer Mini on 20th March – remember, there’s only one day left to order, and then those stamps won’t be available unless they make it into the main Catalogue for 2011-2012. And before you ask, no, I don’t know which one’s will make it – it’s always a surprise. That’s why new Idea Book and Catalogue time is such fun!

Ok, back to what I was talking about. Here’s a photo of our scrummy afternoon tea.

On the menu were vanilla cakes with orange, lemon, rosewater and vanilla bean icing, and rosewater flavoured Parisian macarons (eat your heart out Adriano Zumbo!). Not perfect I’ll admit (a few cracked shells here and there) but they tasted delicious! Please note the trés chic ‘goodbye to summer’ handbags each guest got to take home, using the Island Oasis DSP (which were, of course, filled with yummy chocolate!)

I’m going to share two of the cards we made at our tea party, using my two favourite stamp sets from the Summer Mini.

  • Stamp Sets: Aviary, Party this Way
  • Ink: Poppy Parade, Basic Grey
  • CS: Whisper White
  • Big Shot: Square Lattice Embossing Folder
  • Accessories: Corner Rounder Punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals

These little birds are so cute! I’ve made a whole heap of gift cards with these recently, most of which I’ve given away. I know I’ll be using this set a lot over the next few months. And the lattice embossing makes it just that little bit more interesting. It’s also fun to play around with which bird fits in which cage!

For our second card, we made an Easter themed one. It’s already less than a month away, can you believe that! And if you like making Easter cards, please don’t miss out on this beautiful set. Even if you don’t, the blossom branch stamp in this set is soooo beautiful – I already have so many ideas for cards using this one.

  • Stamp Set: Easter Blossoms
  • Ink: StazOn Black, Blushing Bride, So Saffron, Bashful Blue, Baja Breeze
  • CS: Whisper White, Basic Black
  • Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch, Scallop Circle Punch

I love making clouds with the Scallop Circle punch – it’s so easy! Punch a circle out of scrap cardstock, and then use it to mask sections of your image while you sponge around the edges. Much easier than cutting out actual clouds! I’m afraid the photo doesn’t do that blossom branch justice – it’s so detailed and beautiful, and very easy to colour using your markers or blender pens.

Thanks for taking a peek today! And don’t forget, if there’s something you want to order from the Summer mini, there’s only one day to go!

Cheers,

 

Leave a Reply

