Three Way Thursday – Morning Cup

Even though I’m a ‘coffee’ girl, I have a thing for old teasets. I don’t mind if they’re mismatched – the more ‘crazy’ the teaset the better. When my Mum was a little girl, apparently something you often got for your birthday was a teacup, saucer and cakeplate. I have a few of hers, and we also have a few belonging to my husband’s Grandma Claire. I just love them – there’s something about the ceremony of having tea from a teapot in a beautiful cup that just makes it special.

This first card was inspired by one of my favourite teacups – one called “Broom” (as in the flower, not the cleaning aide!). It belonged to Brad’s grandmother, who is no longer with us, and I always think of her when I have a cup of tea using it. You can see it in the background of this picture.

  • Stamp Sets: Take a Sip, Party this Way
  • Ink: So Saffron, Pear Pizzazz, Peach Parfait, StazOn Black
  • CS: Whisper White, So Saffron, Vellum
  • DSP: In-Colour Designer Series Paper Stack in Pear Pizzazz
  • Big Shot: Lots of Tags Sizzlit, Elegant Bouquet Embossing Folder
  • Accessories: Paper-Piercing Tool and Mat Pack

I wanted a soft look for this card, so I embossed a piece of Vellum using the Elegant Bouquet Embossing Folder and Big Shot, and then coloured the back of the vellum using my Stampin’ Write Markers. And, because I have this stamp set in clear mount, I was able to position all my pieces on one large block, and stamp once!

While I was in a tea sort of mood (I was drinking a cup of Orange Pekoe while making these – my favourite blend of tea) I made a little tea bag holder, that you might give to a friend with a tea themed gift, like a new teapot or cup, or perhaps an old-fashioned bridal Kitchen Tea (does anyone have those anymore?). It also might be nice for someone who wasn’t feeling well, or a bit down, with the sentiment that I’ve chosen.

  • Stamp Set: Morning Cup
  • Ink: StazOn Black, Bashful Blue, So Saffron
  • CS: Whisper White, So Saffron, Bashful Blue
  • Big Shot: Lots of Tags Sizzlit, Floral Fusion Sizzlit
  • Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch, Circle Ice Rhinestone Brad

 

Here’s the inside of the holder, so you can see how it’s constructed. These are so easy to make! Measure your teabag, then add 0.5 cm to the width, and then double plus 1.5cm to the length. Cut your cardstock to these measurements, and then measure the length of your teabag and score your cardstock from each end. For example – my teabag was 7cm in length and 6cm wide, so I cut my cardstock 7cm x 15.5cm. The scored lines give your teabag a little room. Staple your teabag in, then create a ‘clasp’ using a strip of cardboard or your tag sizzlit, and secore with half a velcro dot.

 

Coffee Lovers, I haven’t forgotten about you! I can’t do without my morning cup of coffee at breakfast time, and I just love the old fashioned coffee pot and mug in this stamp set. We made this ‘zingy’ card at my technique class on Tuesday, when we were doing ‘paper piecing’.

  • Stamp Set: Morning Cup
  • Ink: Pear Pizzazz, StazOn Black
  • CS: Whisper White, Old Olive, Pacific Point
  • DSP: Island Oasis (Available in the current Summer Mini until 31st March)
  • Accessories: Linen Thread, Brights Designer Buttons, Scallop Edge Punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals

I love how these colours go together – they look crisp and clean, and a little bit zany. That coffee pot looks so retro with that Island Oasis DSP on it (the pattern reminds me of my business trips to Samoa, a looong time ago), and I totally love that sentiment!

Well, thanks for taking a peek this week! I’ll try to post on Monday with some challenges I’m going to try over the weekend.

Cheers,

 

Leave a Reply

