Three Way Thursday: Bliss

Just managed to squeak my post in while it’s still Thursday. Phew! It’s been so hot this week in Sydney, that I haven’t really felt like doing anything at all. But there was a cool breeze this evening which finally motivated me to do a bit of stamping. (Hopefully it will stick around tomorrow to inspire me to do a bit of housework!)

This weeks star of the show is one of the Sale-a-bration stamp sets – Bliss. Awww. I think nearly every demonstrator I know loves this set, and I couldn’t wait to put a $100.00 order in last week so I could get it for free.

I’m trying something different this week. You may know that I love doing colour and layout challenges, so I thought I’d see if I could tackle three different challenges this evening using the same stamp set. You can let me know if I’ve succeeded!

Shelli Gardner also has set a challenge for us to make something with the new SAB stamp sets, so I’ve placed a link to these cards on her blog too!

Challenge 1: Inkspirations Challenges, Sketch No. 55

Here’s the sketch challenge. I had a bit of trouble with this one – what I wanted to do in my head just didn’t look as good as I thought it would once I had it down in ‘card form’. Tell me what you think.

 

 

 

  • Stamp Set: Bliss (available during Sale-a-bration 2011 only)
  • Ink: Wild Wasabi, Daffodil Delight, Early Espresso
  • CS: Early Espresso, Whisper White, Daffodil Delight
  • DSP: Greenhouse Gala
  • Accessories: 1 3/4″ Circle Punch, 1 3/4″ Scallop Circle Punch, Linen Thread, Neutrals Button, Stampin’ Dimensionals

A little trick you may already know – to use the 1 3/4″ Circle with the 1 3/4″ Scallop, punch two scallop circles, and cut them up with scissors so that you have two scallops to each piece – a rough heart shape. Then arrange them behind the circle and glue – when you’re done, it should look like a larger scallop circle behind the 1 3/4″ circle.

Challenge No.2: Case Study Challenge No. 25

I love the Case Study Challenges. They have a new ‘muse’ each month, who provides a card as inspiration for each challenge – to play along, you make a card that may be inspired by the colour, stamp set, theme, layout – whatever tickles your fancy. Here’s a picture of the inspiration card for this challenge. What I liked about it was the mixture of shapes, textures, and the layout. I thought the use of contrasting designer series paper was interesting, so that’s what I tried to incorporate into my challenge entry.

 

 

  • Stamp Set: Bliss (available during Sale-a-bration 2011 only)
  • Ink: Basic Black, Riding Hood Red
  • CS: Very Vanilla, Riding Hood Red, Basic Black
  • DSP: Love Letter
  • Big Shot: Lots of Tags Sizzlit, Scallop Square Die (available in the Summer Mini)
  • Accessories: Stampin’ Dimensionals

I used lots of Stampin’ Dimensionals when I made this, as I wanted it to have a 3D effect. The heart I cut freehand, and the flourish is from the Love Letter DSP. Even though we don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day in our house, I may give this card to my husband, so that he can look at it while he’s at work and know that I’m thinking of him. Awwww.

Challenge No.3: Utah Divas International Colour Challenge No.21

Here are the challenge colours – Tempting Turquoise, Melon Mambo, Regal Rose, Certainly Celery and Bashful Blue. I probably wouldn’t have chosen those colours together myself, but they look lovely – very spring like.

So, here’s my take on the challenge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Stamp Set: Bliss
  • CS: Whisper White, Melon Mambo
  • Ink: Regal Rose, Certainly Celery, Bashful Blue
  • DSP: Island Oasis
  • Big Shot: Lots of Tags Sizzlit
  • Accessories: Brights Buttons, Linen Thread, Corner Punch

Doesn’t it look light and cool – very spring. I wasn’t sure I’d like this card when I was making it, but I surprised myself.

Why don’t you do some challenges this week. They really get your creative juices flowing, and they’re lots of fun. See you next week for another Three Way Thursday!

Cheers,

6 thoughts on “Three Way Thursday: Bliss

Leave a Reply

