Three Way Thursday: Printed Petals

 

Hello Peeps! Welcome to my very first Three Way Thursday, where I use one Stampin’ Up! stamp set for three very different projects.

This week, I decided to use Printed Petals (W 121562, C 120444), which is on p.74 of the 2010-2011 Idea Book and Catalogue. I love the three examples in the catalogue, but I think it would be cheating if I just made them again!

Idea No. 1: A Pocket Card


  • Stamp Set: Printed Petals
  • Ink: Chocolate Chip, Versamark
  • CS: Old Olive, Whisper White, Chocolate Chip
  • DSP: Greenhouse Gala
  • Accessories: Victoria Crochet Trim (from the current Summer Mini Catalogue), Antique Brads

A pocket card is really easy to make, if you want a different look. Cut your main piece of cardstock as usual for a card (mine is A5 x 10.5cm) and then score in the centre. Fold back one edge to create your pocket – you can tear the edge like I have, or use a border punch, or leave it plain. Tying ribbon underneath the fold makes your pocket sturdy enough to hold a notecard, or letter, or even a flattish gift, like a voucher, or hot chocolate sachet (mmmm, chocolate). I’ve chosen to line the inside of my pocket with DSP, to create a contrast. I’ve stamped one of the smaller stamps from Printed Petals in Versamark on the outside of my pocket, and then echoed it on my note in Chocolate Chip. I love using Summer Sun, Old Olive and Chocolate Chip together – one of my favourite combos, and it ties in beautifully with the Greenhouse Gala Designer Series Paper. And I love those Antique Brads – you’ll see more of them on my last project for today!

Idea No.2 – Collage Stamping


  • Stamp Set: Printed Petals, Friendly Words Wheel
  • Ink: So Saffron, Concord Crush, Basic Black
  • CS: So Saffron, Whisper White, Elegant Eggplant
  • DSP: Greenhouse Gala
  • Accessories: Brights Brads, Gold Glow Smooch Spritz (from the current Summer Mini Catalogue)

Collage stamping is often seen in vintage look cards and projects, but that’s no reason to not use it on bright fun projects like this card too! Stamp your largest image first, then gradually add layers until you’re happy with it. It might look like I’ve used more than one purple and yellow ink, but I’ve just stamped again before reloading my stamp with more ink – it’s called ‘stamping off’ or ‘second generation stamping’ and doubles the amount of colours you have in your arsenal! Unfortunately, you can’t really see it in this photo due to the terrible lighting in my kitchen, but I’ve also sprayed the main panel of the card with Gold Glow Smooch Spritz. You might also be wondering how I’ve managed to line up just one sentiment from the Friendly Word Wheel. If you were stamping that first, you could isolate just one phrase by using a marker to ink it, but I’ve chopped up my Friendly Word wheel so I now have a set of individual stamps. I actually got the idea from Teneale Williams beautiful blog, and couldn’t wait to try it myself.

Idea No.3 – Gift Handbag

Last year, after attending Convention, I did a post showing my favourite swaps. One of them was a little tiny handbag, made by Julia Leece. I was tidying up the top shelf in the dining room today (after finally taking down the Christmas tree!) and found it again. After measuring it, I wondered if I could make one using 12 x 12  cardstock. The answer, obviously, was yes!

  • Stamp Set: Printed Petals
  • CS: Elegant Eggplant, Basic Black
  • Ink: Versamark, Frost White Shimmer Paint
  • DSP: In-Colours Stack in Concord Crush
  • Big Shot: Floral Fusion Sizzlit, Lots of Tags Sizzlit
  • Accessories: Antique Brads, Circle Ice Rhinestone Brad in Lilac, Icm Taffeta Ribbon in Basic Black, 1 3/4″ Circle Punch, White Gel Pen

Pretty cute huh, even if I do say so myself, and actually very easy to make, once I’d worked out my measurements. If you’d like to know exactly how I made it, please email me, and I’ll be happy to provide instructions for the basic handbag model. Of course, I couldn’t leave mine basic. It was originally stamped in Versamark all over with one of the smaller flower stamps, but in the end, I just didn’t like it. Then I remembered this Concord Crush DSP, and the rest of the design flowed very quickly after that! Sponging the Elegant Eggplant with Concord Crush ink helps tie the two different colours together. The Frost White Shimmer Paint took on a quite metallic tone on the Basic Black and Elegant Eggplant, and I just love that stamped row of tiny flower shapes. The inside of the bag is still stamped using Versamark and the smaller plain flower stamp – if you stamped it in bright colours on Whisper White, you could almost make it look a bit Louis Vuitton – now there’s an idea!

Well, I hope you liked my first Three Way Thursday. If there’s a Stampin’ Up! stamp set that you have problems getting inspiration for, email me, and if it’s in my collection, I’ll happily take up the challenge.

Thanks for taking a peek!

Cheers,

6 thoughts on “Three Way Thursday: Printed Petals

  1. Such a great idea to make three things with one set!! And I love your little bag! So much beautiful detail – very inspiring. Think I’ll need to go make three things with one set now……Thanks!

  2. This is amazing! i would love the measurements for the handbag please. Can i use it in one of my home 3D workshops…please?

Leave a Reply

