I love a sunburnt country…

I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains.
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror –
The wide brown land for me!

Dorothea Mackellar – 1904

Most Australian children learn part of this poem ‘My Country’ when they’re at school. I know it might sound bizarre, but I think of this poem most around Christmas time. Even though I would love to experience a cold winter Christmas at least once in my lifetime, I love the hot and hazy cheer of an Australian Christmas, and it seems odd to me that we give each other cards that are covered in snowmen, or cosy cottages with fires, when we’re more likely to be going to bbq’s and swimming in the pool.

Don’t get me wrong, I love traditional Christmas images – but, I think they need to be balanced out with a few that celebrate the way that Australians enjoy their summer holiday season. Which is why, when I saw Makeesha’s colour challenge for this week, I knew exactly what I was going to do!

They’re not exactly Christmassy colours, but when I saw them, I immediately thought of Santa – a sunburnt Australian Santa on a surfboard!

  • Stamp Set: Happy Christmas, Mate
  • Ink: So Saffron, Poppy Parade, Baja Breeze, Chocolate Chip
  • CS: Baja Breeze, Poppy Parade, So Saffron, Whisper White
  • DSP: In Colours Designer Series Paper Stack in Poppy Parade
  • Big Shot: No.2 Circle Die
  • Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch, Neutrals Designer Buttons, Blender Pen, Linen Thread, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Sorry the lighting isn’t better, but I wanted to get this photo on my blog before the challenge closed this evening, and that meant taking a photo at night rather than waiting for daylight. But I think this Santa looks pretty cool! There are two other images in this stamp set, and I’ll be working on Christmas projects this week that feature them. Hope you like my sunburnt Christmas card!

Cheers,

Dani

Leave a Reply

