It’s all in the Accessories…

You know when a new fashion trend comes out, and you sort of like it, but don’t want to invest a huge amount on outfits that you know you probably won’t wear that often, or at all next year? Often, it’s cheaper to just buy a few accessories in the right colours to update what you’ve already got in your closet.

Well, you can also take this approach for card making and scrapbooking. Take a look at this card I made recently for an Inklings Christmas card swap (girls, if you don’t have yours yet – look away! LOL!)  No Christmas DSP was used, no specifically Christmassy stamp set – I used one Big Shot accessory and my Scallop Border Punch to create the feel of a country Christmas.

  • Stamp Set: Teeny Tiny Sentiments
  • Ink: Chocolate Chip
  • CS: Chocolate Chip, Confetti White, Riding Hood Red
  • DSP: Greenhouse Gala
  • Big Shot: Merry Details
  • Accessories: Scallop Border Punch, Basic Pearls

Pretty cute huh? If you’re looking for a good ‘sentiment’ stamp set, I can highly recommend Teeny Tiny Sentiments as a good investment – it has 24 stamps, including those ones we need for different occasions throughout the year, like Valentine’s Day, Easter, Mother’s and Father’s Day, and Christmas. It even has a ‘With Sympathy’ stamp, which, like it or not, we may all need at some time – it’s good to have it on hand so you can make something heartfelt when you need to.

I also love that ‘Merry Details‘ Sizzlit for the Big Shot. The die was made exclusively for Stampin’ Up!, and is only available through your local SU! Demonstrator, like yours truly. That little bird is adorable, and I know I’ll be using him throughout the year on other cards, not just for Christmas. I’m not sure about the pearls on this card though – once I’d put one on, I was committed! I thought they were a bit of overkill, but I think they’re growing on me.

We’ll be making this card at my next Sunday Stamping class on Sunday 7th November, plus two other Christmas cards, and maybe even a few Christmas tags if we have time. If you’d like to come, please email me and let me know – cost is $20.00, which includes all materials, afternoon tea and a good chat! Take a look at my Classes and Events page for more details.

Thanks for taking a peek today.

Cheers,

Dani

4 thoughts on “It’s all in the Accessories…

  1. Pingback: Dashing through the snow… « Inky Fingers

  2. Pingback: The Icing on the Christmas Cake! « Inky Fingers

  3. Pingback: Happy Mail « Inky Fingers

Leave a Reply

