My little Birthday Ballerina…

Sorry, I’ve been neglecting you. We were a bit busy with the back to school/daylight savings chaos, and then I had a birthday party to organise.

The Bella Boo turned three yesterday. She’s been asking when her birthday would be since her big sister’s birthday in August, so we were all very happy for her (and us) when it finally arrived! She’s always been in a hurry. We were expecting her to be born on Halloween, and she surprised us all by arriving two weeks earlier, only taking 5 1/2 hours to be born. She’s my little red-headed cyclone, and I wouldn’t have her any other way.

Here she is at four days old – she looks like a tiny little doll.

We had a birthday party for her on Sunday at the local park. She was getting a little balance bike from us for her birthday, and with the (hopefully) lovely Spring weather, it seemed like the perfect place to celebrate. Here are the birthday invitations I sent out for her party.

  • Stamp Set: Tart and Tangy
  • CS: Chocolate Chip, Very Vanilla, Poppy Parade, Blushing Bride
  • Ink: Poppy Parade, Pear Pizzazz
  • DSP: In Colour Designer Series Paper Stack
  • Accessories: Scallop Circle Punch, 1 1/4″ Circle Punch, 1 3/8″ Circle Punch, Riding Hood Red ribbon (retired)

Aren’t they cute! Everything is from Stampin’ Up!, except for the iceblock ‘sticks’ which are tongue depressers from the local discount chemist. The plan was to have iceblocks at the party, but the weather was a little strange that day – hot sun, very cold wind, so we just had party food and cake instead! If you’d like details on how I made these, email me to let me know and I’ll send you a link to the online tutorial from Angie Kennedy Juda’s website.

Bella is currently fulfilling her lifelong ambition to be a ballerina – that is, she’s attending a preschool ballet class where she skips around like a little fairy in a tutu and ballet slippers, and does her best to follow her teachers instructions (but sometimes it’s all just so exciting that she has to run around in circles instead).

She loves Angelina Ballerina (as do most 3-year-old girls I know), so I made her a punch art Angelina Ballerina card when I was at the Inklings retreat and had access to all those lovely SU! punches! Unfortunately, I didn’t take a photo of it before I gave it to her – now one of Angelina’s ears has been ‘loved’ off, so I’m not sure she’s fit for public viewing any more! But I guess I can show you the cake!

It’s the first time I’ve made a cake topper out of fondant, so it’s not too bad. I did have a moment of drama when Angelina’s head came off when I was transferring her to the top of the cake, but a quick dab of water behind the ears and all was well.

Here’s our little ballerina on her new bike – say cheese!

Poor Barbie has been chucked in the bike basket upside down – I think she’d stashed a few party treats in there as well for the trip around the park.

I’ll be back later this week with a new Christmas card kit. If you haven’t received a copy of the Inky Fingers newsletter with my current Dasher kit, and details of SU!’s Free Christmas Ribbon offer, please email me and let me know!

Thanks for taking a peek! Happy ballerina twirls to you and yours.

Cheers,

Dani

Leave a Reply

