What is Vintage?

‘Vintage’ is one of those words that gets applied to everything. You can have vintage clothes, vintage cars, even vintage computer games – a wine can be ‘of a certain vintage’. I looked up the word ‘vintage’ on Wikipaedia, and one of its meanings is ‘having an enduring appeal; high-quality, classic’. It definitely doesn’t mean ‘brown’ or ‘sepia’, which is what you usually find on cards that are given the vintage tag.

I guess everyone has their own interpretation of the word – those of you that are attending my ‘Go Vintage’ card making class this Saturday will see mine! Here are two of the three cards we’ll be making (gotta keep something up my sleeve as a surprise for those attending).

  • Stamp Set: Style Beautiful
  • Ink: Basic Grey, Rich Razzleberry
  • CS: Basic Grey, Basic Black, Whisper White
  • Big Shot: Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder
  • Accessories: Linen Thread, Neutrals Designer Buttons, Basic Black 1cm Taffetta Ribbon

Absolutely no browns were used in the making of this card, but I would still call it ‘vintage’ in style. The Style Beautiful stamp set just lends itself to the vintage look. I was thinking of 1920’s flappers when I designed it, and black jet jewellry. Don’t you love that taffetta ribbon – it has such a beautiful sheen to it in real life. I’ll be showing how to do one of these ‘feature bows’ in the class – there’s a trick to it, but once you know how, they’re very easy!

  • Stamp Sets: Vintage Vogue, Friendly Words Wheel, Very Vintage Wheel
  • Ink: Pear Pizzazz, Wild Wasabi, Chocolate Chip, Baja Breeze
  • CS: Baja Breeze, Naturals Ivory, Whisper White, Chocolate Chip
  • DSP: Greenhouse Gala
  • Big Shot: Beautiful Wings Embosslit
  • Accessories: Scallop Circle Punch, Linen Thread, Neutrals Designer Buttons, Scallop Edge Punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Okay, I’ll admit it, this one has lots of Chocolate Chip sponging on it, but I think it goes with the ‘aged’ look. Don’t you love that Greenhouse Gala Designer Series Paper? It’s a bit hard to see the details on this card, because it’s been scrumpled up into a scallop circle flower, but believe me, when you see it up close, it’s just lush! And I’m loving my Beautiful Wings Embosslit Die. So many gorgeous new things to share in the new catalogue!

To me, vintage means layers. Layers of cardstock and ink, that are gradually built up to make something that is classic in style. Exactly the opposite of clean and simple. Clean and Simple (CAS) cards have an immediate impact – they use simple graphics and bold colours to capture your attention. Vintage cards keep you looking – you gradually notice little details that make the card what it is. I’m still learning how to create CAS cards, but I just love Vintage. I hope you’ll join me (and my vintage tea cups) at my class on Sunday for afternoon tea to get your fingers inky! 🙂

Sunday 10th October, Summer Hill

Go Vintage! Stamping Class – 2-5pm

Cost: $20 – all class materials and afternoon tea included. Email me to hold your spot – I’ll let you know my address details when you book.

Thanks for taking a peek today.

Cheers,

Dani

One thought on “What is Vintage?

Leave a Reply

