A little birthday magic…

Today my little big girl turned six. She’s now attending kindergarten at primary school, and is loving it. She’s a bit of a drama queen, a little social butterfly, and a lovely big sister. Tomorrow at the school assembly she’ll be up on stage, barely reaching the microphone, welcoming everyone and announcing the national anthem. She also has her first speaking part in a little school play. Where has that time gone?

This time, at 7pm six years ago, Brad and I were still in the Birth Centre at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, thinking our baby would never arrive. We’d been there since 3am that morning (I’d managed at home from about 10pm the evening before), and I have to admit by 7pm I was knackered. She finally made her big entrance at 10.19pm on 12 August 2004, and we were so happy to meet her.

That little baby grew up so fast; the years have just raced by. She’s not a little chubba bubba any more.

Today was her birthday, and because I always leave these things till the last minute, last night I made her card. Something pink, something pretty, something most six year old girls would love. A pink pony pegasus card. And not just any pegasus – this one actually flies – or spins at least. 🙂

She loved it – I was worried that little pegasus was actually going to fly right off the card she was twirling it so fast this morning. I hope you like it too.

  • CS: Pretty in Pink, Perfect Plum
  • Stamp Set: Pony Party
  • Ink: Rose Red, Regal Rose, Staz On Black, Versamark
  • DSP: Raspberry Tart (now on the Last Chance List – email me before August 31st if you want some!)
  • Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch, White Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Dazzling Diamonds, Lilac Circle Rhinestone Brads, Blender Pen, embroidery thread. I wish I’d had an embossing buddy – then that embossed sentiment would have been crystal clear.

Something else that I’ll be investing in before I make another card like this will be the Big Shot Circles Originals Dies. So much easier – I could have cut both perfect circles at the same time, without having to trace around a tea cup edge, cut them out separately and then try to line them up again. I also wouldn’t have to try to clean up my imperfect scissor work around the edges. As soon as I have those dies, maybe we’ll make one of these in a class – they’re lots of fun!

Now my little big girl is all tucked up in bed, after finishing off a special birthday ice cream sundae and reading one of her new Shirley Barber fairy books. Sweet dreams Claire bear.

Wishing you a magical evening too, even if it’s not your birthday. Thanks for taking a peek.

Cheers,

Dani

2 thoughts on “A little birthday magic…

  1. I loved reading your blog and the card is absolutely beautiful! (even makes me wish I had a little girl to make one for!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

