“We met at Starbucks…”

After participating in last weeks challenge for The Holiday, making a card I really liked, and then realising I had forgotten the challenge requirement, I was determined that this week, I was going to enter and get it right! How lucky was I that the challenge was for Best in Show!?

I love this movie – it cracks me up every time I see it. For those of you that aren’t familiar with the storyline, it’s a ‘mockumentary’ about five dogs and their owners destined to show in the Mayflower Kennel Club Dog Show, held in Philadelphia. I can remember watching it for the first time with my sister – I nearly spat my coffee out laughing listening to Cookie and Gerry sing their self composed song ‘God loves a terrier’, and her looking at me saying ‘I don’t get it’. It’s probably not everyone’s cup of tea, but I like it. For a movie about dogs and their peculiar owners, you may wonder what on earth inspired my card, and why it doesn’t have any dogs on it!

One of my favourite couples in the movie are Meg and Hamilton Swan. They are the ultimate yuppies, constantly dropping references about products and clothes, defining themselves by the kind of coffee they drink – they even have their dog Beatrice in therapy because the dog came into their bedroom while they were having sex. Here’s a YouTube link to them talking about how they met at Starbucks.

Hamilton – “I remember what I was drinking when I met you. It was a grande espresso.”
Meg – “That’s right. And I thought that was really sexy.”

Priceless. This was the inspiration for my card. They’re the sort of couple that would think they deserved a medallion.

  • Stamp Set – Whimsical Words (Sale-a-bration 2010 Set)
  • Ink – Chocolate Chip, So Saffron
  • CS – So Saffron, Chocolate Chip
  • DSP – Windsor Knot, Sweet Always
  • Big Shot – Lots of Tags Sizzlets
  • Accessories – 1″ Chocolate Chip Grosgrain

Thanks for taking a peek my entry. Why don’t you play along?

Cheers,

Dani

4 thoughts on ““We met at Starbucks…”

  1. Beautiful, beautiful medallion. I thought that movie was such fun too. Have you seen “A Mighty Wind” – same people, goofy dialog too. Your card doesn’t need a dog, it is perfect just the way it is.

Leave a Reply

