Happy New Year!

I know, it’s a bit early isn’t it. But, I was inspired. I’ve been watching bits and pieces of The Holiday on YouTube, thinking about what I could make for the current Cinema Saturday Creative Challenge, and then the idea hit me. The LBD (little black dress). Both Iris and Amanda are wearing them in the last scene, where they’re both so happy! And I’m such a sucker for happy endings. So, I came up with this.

  • Stamp Set – Teeny Tiny Sentiments
  • Ink – Staz On Black
  • CS – Whisper White, Basic Black
  • Accessories – Dazzling Diamonds, Stampin’ Dimensionals

I drew the dress freehand on some Basic Black CS, and then scalloped the bottom with my Scallop Edge Border, gradually turning it to get the rounded shape. It’s meant to be modelled on Iris’ (Kate Winslet’s) dress. I don’t know why, but the Iris/Miles story line appeals to me more than the Amanda/Graham one – maybe Amanda (Cameron Diaz) and Graham (Jude Law) are  just too beautiful for me!

I sketched in the hanger using a black pen – I could just imagine the dress hanging on Iris’s closet door as she was getting ready for a romantic New Year’s Eve with Miles (Jack Black – who’da thought? – he’s so cute in this movie!) and then attached the dress to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I stamped the Happy New Year from Teeny Tiny Sentiments in StazOn Black ink. I’d already scored three lines at the base of the card with my bone folder, but decided a Happy New Year card needed more zing, so I put a piece of double sided tape between the top and bottom line, and then covered it in Dazzling Diamonds – perfecto! I love it!

And then it hit me. No eyelets. That was a challenge requirement. Bugger!

So, there you have it. I can’t enter my card in the challenge, but I had fun making it anyway, and that’s why I enter them in the first place. Enjoy your early New Year’s Eve!

Edited to add – but, Cinderella, you shall go to the ball! I was just over at the Moxie Fab World website, and their new challenge is Classy and Elegant – you can’t get more classy than a little black dress 😉

Cheers,

Dani

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: “We met at Starbucks…” « Inky Fingers

  2. Hey Dani! Thanks for entering the Let’s Do Classy & Elegant Card Style Week challenge in the Moxie Fab World. I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

