Fun and Cute…Hello Baby

We live in an old art deco style house, which often gets a bit damp and mildewy in the wintertime. It’s been so damp in Sydney this winter that I had set myself the task of cleaning the walls and ceilings today, so of course here I am, still sitting in my PJ’s with a cuppa, surfing my favourite card making blogs for challenges! Procrastination? Moi? 🙂

I really love doing card challenges – they make me think creatively, and it means I’m making cards for the enjoyment of it, not for a class or a workshop (although that’s fun too!). I’m afraid I haven’t had time for them lately, but I’ve decided I’m going to make time, and I’ve set myself the enjoyable task of doing at least two challenges a week.

Here’s the first one. Over at Moxie Fab, there’s a style challenge for ‘fun and cute’ cards. How does Cath, editor of Moxie Fab, define a fun and cute card?

To begin with–a happy color scheme, a sweet sentiment, and an uncomplicated design. Throw in some whimsy (like cartoons and doodles), a few simple shapes (like hearts and stars), some friendly patterns (like polka dots and gingham), and voila! There’s a smile on your face and a song in your heart that’s unmistakably fun and cute.

Here’s my creation for today – a whimsical little baby card, using one of my favourite stamps from the Fun and Fast Notes stamp set. They’re great fun to colour with your blender pens, and the ‘cartoony’ style is very forgiving – you don’t have to be overly careful with your colouring. Incidentally, it’s one of the stamp sets you receive in the Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator starter kit – the current 20% off special is on until the end of July, so contact me soon if you’re interested.

  • Stamp Sets – Fun and Fast Notes, Teeny Tiny Sentiments
  • Ink – StazOn Black, Bashful Blue, Chocolate Chip
  • CS – Bashful Blue, Whisper White
  • DSP – Washington Apple
  • Accessories – 1″ Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon, Button Latte button, twine (not SU! – need to order more linen thread!), Blender pen, Stampin’ Dimensionals

You might notice that the layout of this card looks familiar. Take a look at the Very Merry Christmas card I made for the Inklings ‘Christmas in July‘ Blog Hop. Yep, it’s the same. It’s one of my favourite layouts – quick and simple, shows off your beautiful designer paper, and is balanced out by a sentiment and a touch of ribbon. Easy peasy.

Well, that’s all for the moment. I really should get back to washing down those walls. Pop back tomorrow if you’ve got time, because I’ll be posting my card for this weeks Cinema Saturday Creative Challenge – and it’s from one of my favourite ‘chick flicks’ of all time – The Holiday. Why don’t you join in too?

Thanks for taking a peek.

Cheers,

Dani

6 thoughts on “Fun and Cute…Hello Baby

Leave a Reply

