Happy birthday to you…

I’ve been meaning to post a photo of this card since Sunday last week! I just needed a camera to be able to take a photo. I don’t have my ‘dream’ camera yet (that may take a while!) but after a quick trip to Cash Converters yesterday, I’m the proud owner of an Olympus Camedia ‘in-betweener’ – we’re still getting to know each other, but I’m sure we’ll get along just fine, as soon as I work out how to turn off the automatic flash!

This little easel card was made at my 3-D card class last Sunday – very quick and easy to make, but very cute. I’ve gone for a ‘retro’ look with the Big Bold Birthday stamp set and the Washington Apple striped DSP. Like the look of this stamp set? Well, pop back later this week and there’ll be a special July Stampin’ Up! deal available which includes this stamp set.

  • Stamp Set: Big Bold Birthday
  • Ink: Bashful Blue, So Saffron, Tangerine Tango
  • CS: Riding Hood Red, Bashful Blue, Whisper White
  • DSP: Washington Apple
  • Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch

Here’s the card in a side on view, so you can see the fold that keeps it upright. Speaking of deals, you’ve got until 8pm tonight to take advantage of the current discount on ‘ribbon and bling’ – just email me your order. I’ve already ordered my discounted Circle Ice Rhinestone Brads for Christmas cards – thanks Stampin’ Up!

Last but not least, yesterday was my birthday, and I got the most beautiful card from one of my best friends, Mandy. I just had to share it with you. I can’t show you the whole card, because Mandy has used one of the sentiment sets that will be released in the new catalogue that she received at this year’s Stampin’ Up! Convention, but I can show you the beautiful pansies that she’s created using the Butterfly Punch and XL Two Step Bird Punch.

Aren’t they gorgeous! And she’s used my favourite colour – Elegant Eggplant! I just love receiving home made cards. Another demonstrator I know has a quote in her forum signature that says ‘A homemade card is a hug with a fold in the middle’ and that’s just how I feel about them. To know that someone has taken time to make something for you is a wonderful feeling. Why don’t you make a card for someone you know this week – there doesn’t have to be a special occasion behind it, sometimes a ‘random act of kindness’ card can mean just as much to the recipient.

Thanks for taking a peek.

Cheers,

Dani

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday to you…

Leave a Reply

