Inklings Blog Hop

Welcome to The INKlings’ Team’s first ever blog hop, and also mine – so exciting! You may have arrived from the lovely Janice Spencer’s blog, or just be visiting me here at Inky Fingers, whichever way, once you’ve checked out my creations, you can continue the hop through the link at the end of this post to the next team member.

What style of cards do we frequently get asked for inspiration for? More often than not it’s masculine cards, be it little boys or grandfathers, everyone seems to struggle with cards for the males in our lives.  So as a team we thought we’d help you out by providing you with 20 team members’ fantastic blogs that you can hop through and get lots of fantastic ideas from.

Want to win some Blog Candy?  C’mon, you know you do! Simply leave a comment on each blog and then email Michelle Dyson and let her know you’ve done so and you’ll be in the running for a fantastic prize of 20 handmade cards plus other goodies. Everyone needs a card stash for emergency occasions, as in, ‘oh, it’s your birthday today? Of course it is! I’ll drop around this evening with your birthday card!’ (Sorry, Blog Candy prize not available to SU! demonstrators.)

Now, down to business! I just recently became the proud owner of the Vintage Vogue set, available in the current Autumn/Winter mini catalogue. I’ve seen so many beautiful and feminine cards done with this set, but I decided to challenge myself and see if I could make it look ‘macho’!

The first project I wanted to use it on was a scrapbooking page. I was married to my wonderful husband, Brad, in June 2003, and the photos are still stuck willy-nilly in a photo album. I’ve always wanted to scrapbook them, but in the past I resisted scrapbooking because I knew I would get hooked and we didn’t have the space. Now that I’m a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator, and I have so many beautiful things to play with, I’ve decided it’s time to learn!

This photo of Brad was taken on the lawn of the Manor House in Mt Victoria where we got married, about half an hour before the ceremony – I was still getting dressed I think! Just like me, always leaving things to the last minute!

  • CS: So Saffron, Bravo Burgundy, Night of Navy, Handsome Hunter, Whisper White
  • Ink: So Saffron, Riding Hood Red, Handsome Hunter
  • Stamp Sets: Pocket Silhouettes, Vintage Vogue, Tiny Tags
  • Accessories: Circle Metal Edge Tags, Filigree Brads
Even though he ended up wearing a Black Watch tartan kilt, I’ve modelled my page on the McEwan clan tartan, his Scottish anscestors.
The crown and heart stamps from Tiny Tags I’ve used in the circular metal edge tag is to echo the claddagh rings we wore as engagement rings. I’ve used a couple of stamps from Pocket Silhouettes to try to give the impression of Scottish heather at the bottom of the page.
Vintage Vogue has been used on the concealed journalling behind the main photo, which reads…
Brad, 14 June 2003, The Manor House, Mt. Victoria
Bear, from the moment we began to plan our wedding, you were adamant that you were going to wear a kilt in recognition of your family’s Scottish ancestry.
I will never forget how it felt to see you there, waiting for me as I walked across the lawn. It may have been freezing that day, but looking at you I felt warm right down to my toes. You are, and will always be, king of my heart. Cara mo anam.
A bit soppy perhaps, but if you can’t be a bit sentimental on a wedding page, there’s no hope for any of us!
I decided I wanted to try making a card with Vintage Vogue too, to see if I could pull off another masculine look. Here it is in all its manly glory. 😉

  • CS: Basic Black, Basic Grey, Whisper White, So Saffron
  • Ink: Basic Grey, So Saffron, StazOn Black
  • Stamp Set: Vintage Vogue, Seeing Spots
  • Accessories: Aluminium White Circle Metal Edge Tags, Vintage Brads

What do you think? I’ve made it look a bit rough around the edges, by distressing the edges of each piece of cardstock using my fingernails, and it’s been sponged within an inch of its life with coordinating ink. Here’s the inside too. (I asked Brad what he thought, to get a ‘male perspective’ on it, and his observations were as follows: “Is it meant to be from a girl to a guy? Because a guy wouldn’t give a guy a card with ‘friend’ on it – they’d think it was kinda gay – not that there’s anything wrong with that!” So I’m not sure if I succeeded or not!)

Good ol’ Seeing Spots is my go to stamp set when I’m making a masculine card – a clear, graphic pattern with nary a flower in sight. It’s been stamped on not only the basic grey, but also on the black base of the card with StazOn Black, but it’s a bit hard to see in the photo.

To round things off, I made a gift card holder too. I can’t take credit for the design of these, they come from the amazingly talented Angie Kennedy Juda’s Stampin’ Up! blog. Here’s a link to a detailed tutorial on how to make them. They are so easy and quick to make, and I have to admit, a lot of the time when I buy a gift for male friends it’s a voucher or store gift card. They fit perfectly in here, along with a little note card. It’s a bit hard to photograph the inside to show you, but if you follow the link to Angie’s tutorial, all will become clear!

  • CS: Basic Gray, Whisper White, Not Quite Navy
  • Ink: Not Quite Navy
  • Stamp Set: Time to Party
  • Accessories: Stampin’ Dimensionals

Well that’s all from me. Next stop on the INKlings’ Team Blog Hop is Kylie Swain at Blossom Designs.  If you’re lost, here’s a list of all the lovely Inklings who are contributing to the blog hop.

  1. Clare at Crafty Cow
  2. Janice Spencer
  3. Dani at Inky Fingers – that’s me 🙂
  4. Kylie at Blossom Designs
  5. Amy Anderson
  6. Kari Hughes
  7. Jayne Mercer
  8. Joanna Wassens
  9. Michelle at Stamp Ink Paper
  10. Christie at Christie’s Creative Corner
  11. Ryn at Ryn Scraps
  12. Fiona at Fiona’s Stamping Spot
  13. Beth at BeThinking
  14. Nicky at Keep on Creating
  15. Dani at Stampin’ with Dani
  16. Michelle at Michelle’s Stamping Ground
  17. Rachel at Stamping with Rachel
  18. Rachel Capps
  19. Carolyn at Tigergirl Creations
  20. Michelle at Michelle’s Card Classes

Have fun and don’t forget to leave a comment on each blog to win some great Blog Candy – 20 handmade cards – how good is that?! I’ll be adding my ‘Friends’ card and a few Metal Edge Tags and Filigree Brads for you to play with to the booty.

Thanks for taking a peek!

Dani

20 thoughts on “Inklings Blog Hop

  1. i love the the scrapbook page & especially the layering of the paper..i will have to give that a go!
    the friends card is great too…wonderful ideas! thanks so much

Leave a Reply

