And now, back to our regularly scheduled program…

I know, I’ve been missing in action. Our family was hit with a particularly nasty tummy bug, one after the other. I’ll spare you the details, but it wasn’t pretty. Now that I’ve finally caught up with all the neglected housework, washing and other mundane tasks that were put aside, I have time to play! And wouldn’t you know it, just in time for an Inklings Challenge!

Dani (not me, there are a few of us around!) is setting the three challenges tonight.

Challenge 1: “Layout challenge! Grab your 2009-2010 IB&C, flick to page 52. Create a card or scrapbook page using the layout of the Animal Crackers card on the bottom of the page.”

I decided to do a 6×6 scrapbook page, because I really need to do more scrapbooking, and this layout seemed perfect for a little portrait photo I had of my niece that was laying around my desk because the frame broke. Not colours I’d usually use together, but they seemed to go with the hula hoops in the photo.

  • CS: Kraft, So Saffron, Pacific Point
  • Accessories: Melon Mambo Polka Dot Grosgrain Ribbon, Scallop Border Punch, Trio Flower Punch, Soft Subtle Brads

On to the next one!

Challenge 2: Create a mini pizza box using these instructions. Decorate it using 2 things u don’t use very often. Could be a particular colour, Punch, ribbon that’s hiding in the bottom of the drawer, Rub on’s, chipboard, eyelets, etc.

Well, Dani was right – the pizza box was super easy to make, and looks really cute – I think I’ll be making more of these!

I made the box using Apricot Appeal – a colour I never think to use, and teamed it with Creamy Caramel and Chocolate Chip. I decided the box looked about the right size for a pair of booties and a bonnet, and I haven’t used the ‘Happy New Baby’ stamp from Fun and Fast Notes for quite a while, so that seemed to fit. Last but not least, I’ve been hoarding my buttons lately, so I decided two teeny tiny Latte buttons would make cute little pram wheels! Shame about the thumb print on it though!

  • CS: Apricot Appeal, Creamy Caramel, Whisper White
  • Stamp Set: Fun and Fast Notes
  • Ink: Chocolate Chip
  • Accessories: Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon, Button Latte Designer Buttons, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Challenge 3: Colour Challenge So Saffron, Pumpkin Pie, Kiwi Kiss, Orchid Opulence

Hmmm, small problem in that I don’t have any Orchid Opulence, but Lavender Lace is a fairly close match. When I put these colours together, they made me think 60’s mod squad, so I tried doing a clean and simple pop arty type card. It’s a bit hard to see in the photo, but there are two score lines under the coloured squares.

  • CS: Whisper White, Lavender Lace, Kiwi Kiss, So Saffron, Pumpkin Pie
  • Stamp Sets: Tiny Tags
  • Ink: StazOn Black
  • Accessories: Two Step Bird Punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Thanks for stopping by to take a peek!

Cheers,

Dani

4 thoughts on “And now, back to our regularly scheduled program…

Leave a Reply

