Birthday Boy

I set myself the challenge of making a ‘boyish’ birthday card today – my creations of late have been very flowery and girly, and anyone that knows me well will know how out of character that is. To my five year old daughter’s utter dismay, Mummy steadfastly refuses to wear pink frilly girly things, and much prefers her comfy mary-jane Doc Martens to heels!

Anyway, I decided to go for a blue and green theme, disregarding that old rhyme ‘blue and green should never be seen, unless there’s something in-between’ – if they’re the right blue and green, they go great together! And if you’re not that confident about mixing colours, using one Stampin’ Up! colour family, or checking the Idea Book and Catalogue for their recommendations on coordinating cardstock when you’re using the Designer Paper, is a good idea.

The stamp is from the Fun and Fast Notes set, stamped in Jet Black StazOn, and watercoloured in Old Olive, Brocade Blue and So Saffron. I’ve also used the ‘happy birthday’ stamp from the Big Bold Birthday set, stamped in Old Olive. Designer Series Paper is from Windsor Knot, and the cardstock is Whisper White, Always Artichoke and Baja Blue. I resisted the temptation to put some ‘bling’ on it, and instead punched three holes with a handheld punch to creat some interest.

It was quite quick to do, even with the watercolouring of the image, and would be great for one of those ‘Oh my gosh, I’ve forgotten the card!’ moments.

Cheers,

Dani

Leave a Reply

