Cheap and Cheerful Christmas Gift

Sometimes, we forget things. Especially around Christmas time, when we have so many extra last minute little jobs fighting for space in our overtired and overtaxed memory. It’s extra embarrassing when friends and neighbours pop ’round to say ‘Merry Christmas – I just thought I’d drop off a little something‘ and you have no ‘emergency’ gifts put aside. They don’t need to be big, but handmade counts for a lot in these sorts of situations, and I’ve found these little explosion card boxes to come in very handy around Christmas and Easter time!

Here it is closed. (Many apologies for the photo quality – I can’t find my camera cord, so these were taken with my phone – I’ll add the better images later.)

And here it is opened – just write on the centre of the ‘card’, pop the treats in, and put the lid back on – easy peasy, cheap and cheerful.

  • Stamp Set: Jolly Bingo Bits, Short and Sweet
  • Cardstock: Whisper White, Old Olive
  • DSP: Letters to Santa
  • Ink: Early Espresso, Old Olive Inkpads and Daffodil Delight, Lucky Limeade and Poppy Parade Stampin’ Write Pens
  • Accessories: 1″ Circle Punch, 1 1/4″ Circle Punch, 1 3/8″ Circle Punch, 1 3/4″ Scallop Circle

Now, let me say right at the very beginning – I didn’t come up with this idea. I’ve seen so many different examples of these boxes, and I have no way of knowing who made them ‘first’, but this version is simple and easy, and if you choose you can dress them up to look amazing (I tend to go for simple myself though, especially if I’m making more than one).

You can do a search on YouTube for Explosion Boxes, and get lots of different types of video tutorials; I think SplitCoastStampers has one similar to mine, or I’m happy to send you a simple pdf tutorial on how I make my boxes.

We made this version of the box at one of my recent Technique Tuesday classes, and the ladies who attended were impressed at how incredibly easy these were to make! Once you’ve learned how to make one, you’ll be able to make them in all different sizes – as long as your cardstock measurements are divisible by three, they can be as big or as small as you like.

Because it’s a box and card in one, you don’t have to worry about tying on tags, or making time to wrap the gift – it is the gift! Just have some pre-wrapped christmas treats handy, and a pen, so you can surreptitiously write inside the box before you hand it over.

I love giving ‘consumables’ as Christmas gifts to neighbours and friends – you don’t have to worry if they already have one, or if it’s the right size, or if they have someplace to store it. They’re also very nice for teacher gifts too. And, they’re easy on the wallet – one piece of cardstock, a few scraps, and a quarter piece of DSP later, you have the perfect treasure box for treats!

Thanks for taking a peek today!

Cheers,

One thought on “Cheap and Cheerful Christmas Gift

Leave a Reply

